Monday, July 23, 2007

The Nine Ranks of Angels

According to Pseudo-Dinoysius the Areopagite, there are nine ranks of angels. These can be found in his Celestial Hierarchy. In order of their closeness to the godhead, and therefore their importance, they are:

1. Seraphim
2. Cherubim
3. Thrones
4. Dominions
5. Virtues (mights)
6. Powers
7. Principalities
8. Archangels
9. Angels

I wonder which of these ranks corresponds with Elect Angels?


Ryan S. said...

Keep on bloggin! God bless!

Dyspraxic Fundamentalist said...

Thankyou, Ryan. You are nice.

Shanthi said...

dyspraxic fundamentalist, they are elect angels. Elect angels are angels that follow God, as apposed to fallen angels.

Dyspraxic Fundamentalist said...

Shanthi, help me out.

What leads you to the conclusion that this is what the term 'elect angels' means?